Main Topics

Federal Regulators

Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators
The Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR) is the association for Canada’s provincial insurance regulators. The mandate of the CCIR is to facilitate and promote an efficient and effective insurance regulatory system in Canada to serve the public interest.

Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA)
The CSA is comprised of the provincial and territorial regulators of securities and is primarily responsible for developing a harmonized approach to securities regulation across the country.

Canadian Securities Transition Office
Established in July 2009, the Canadian Securities Transition Office has a three-year mandate to assist in establishing a national securities regulator.

Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC)
IIROC is the national self-regulatory organization which oversees all investment dealers and trading activity on debt and equity marketplaces in Canada. IIROC sets high regulatory and investment industry standards, protects investors and strengthens market integrity while maintaining efficient and competitive capital markets.

Joint Forum of Financial Market Regulators
The Joint Forum is a mechanism through which pension, securities and insurance regulators co-ordinate, harmonize and streamline the regulation of financial products and services in Canada. Its goal is to continuously improve the financial services regulatory system through greater harmonization and the coordination of regulatory approaches.

Mutual Fund Dealers Association (MFDA)
The MFDA is the national self-regulatory organization for the distribution side of the Canadian mutual fund industry.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI)
OSFI is the primary regulator and supervisor of federally regulated deposit-taking institutions, insurance companies and federally regulated private pension plans.